Despite her last disastrous trip to the net, Sakkari comes in again, this time to great effect, volleying past a stranded Krejcikova. But the Czech responds in brilliant fashion, ripping a backhand up the line before Sakkari double faults to hand Krejcikova another match point! Then, more drama! Sakkari appears to hit long, the line judge calls out and Krejcikova throws her arms up in the air in celebration! But wait! It’s not over! The umpire comes down from his chair and rules the ball to be good! Krejcikova is incensed! They must play the point again, and surprise, surprise, Sakkari saves match point again! Back to deuce we go. Another tight call, as Sakkari hits just wide – again the umpire has to come down from his chair to check the mark in the mud – and this time Krejcikova makes no mistake! She’s done it! Krejcikova has won, sealing the match by using her doubles instincts to come into the net and hit a backhand up the line. It took three hours and 18 minutes but Krejcikova has reached the French Open final.